Author Topic: QB64 happily installed on my Chromebook  (Read 3010 times)

Offline CharlieJV

• View Profile
QB64 happily installed on my Chromebook
« on: November 23, 2021, 03:33:54 pm »
Hello,

First, about QB64, I'd like to give some seriously major props to Fellippe, all project contributors (in whatever capacity), and the community (because product greatness alone does not a great product make.)  Everything related to QB64 seems right frigging awesome !

Introduction:

I am a career Gupta Team Developer (aka GTD, previously known as SQLWindows) programmer (and systems analyst) since 1995.
GTD is my all time favourite software development tool for complex business applications running in Windows.  In large part, I appreciate GTD because of the quality of the IDE's code outline, with a level of code indentation/organisation that is unmatched, I think, by anything out there in the market since the mid-90's and to this day.  (The quality of the code-folding helps me overcome cognitive challenges.)

However, my heart belongs to Basic in any incarnation (since my VIC-20 days in the early 80's).  A bit of a nomad, I've played with various Basic implementations over the last few years, and QB64 seems like a really nice one.  I cannot wait to dive in.

That said, I've got a few cognitive disorders going on, in particular attention-deficiency.  Exacerbated by me finding everything under the sun really interesting: everything is a shiny object grabbing my attention.  (i.e. SQUIRREL !)  I hope that I can find some time and remain focused enough to contribute at least something a little bit useful to fans of QB64.  Might take a while ...

About my QB64 setup:

I've got QB64 and InForm successfully installed on my Chromebook (i.e. Linux development environment turned on.)  The process and end-result are the same as installing on Debian 10 (Buster).