Author Topic: long lines  (Read 1764 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline badger

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
long lines
« on: October 08, 2020, 05:03:06 pm »
Hello

can we break up lines that is bigger than the screen and put the rest of it on the next line of the program


Badger

Offline SpriggsySpriggs

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1145
  • Larger than life
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: long lines
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2020, 05:04:25 pm »
Use an underscore at the end of your line to continue like this:

Code: QB64: [Select]
  1. PRINT "This is a long line of text......"+_
  2. "and this is part of the original print statement"
Shuwatch!

Offline badger

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: long lines
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2020, 05:05:38 pm »
Hello

Thanks very much my friend

Badger

Offline Pete

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 2361
  • Cuz I sez so, varmint!
    • View Profile
Re: long lines
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2020, 07:27:01 am »
You can always count on Zach to underscore the solution to the problem. Me, the only thing I underscored on was my S.A.T.s. Actually, I sat out the S.A.Ts. I was too busy coloring.

Pete
Want to learn how to write code on cave walls? https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/qbasic/qbasic-f1/

Offline Dimster

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 500
    • View Profile
Re: long lines
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2020, 11:00:39 am »
Insterestly, the "?" used with "+_" at the end of sentence will output correctly but the "?" does not translate to "PRINT" back in the actual program code.

Offline bplus

  • Global Moderator
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 8053
  • b = b + ...
    • View Profile
Re: long lines
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2020, 11:10:30 am »
Insterestly, the "?" used with "+_" at the end of sentence will output correctly but the "?" does not translate to "PRINT" back in the actual program code.

After first line, I've noticed allot of the formatting lost without loss of function.

Offline SpriggsySpriggs

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1145
  • Larger than life
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: long lines
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2020, 11:40:34 am »
After first line, I've noticed allot of the formatting lost without loss of function.
True. It's weird. Sometimes it really bugs me because I love everything being formatted a certain way. I've just noticed that the IDE can slow to a crawl trying to scroll horizontally to the end of the line if it is too long.
Shuwatch!

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
Re: long lines
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2020, 04:48:54 pm »
Lines continued with the underscore character are indeed ignored by the auto formatter.

Offline RhoSigma

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: long lines
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2020, 05:23:18 pm »
My Projects:   https://qb64forum.alephc.xyz/index.php?topic=809
GuiTools - A graphic UI framework (can do multiple UI forms/windows in one program)
Libraries - ImageProcess, StringBuffers (virt. files), MD5/SHA2-Hash, LZW etc.
Bonus - Blankers, QB64/Notepad++ setup pack

Offline OldMoses

  • Seasoned Forum Regular
  • Posts: 469
    • View Profile
Re: long lines
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2020, 08:02:35 pm »
Lines continued with the underscore character are indeed ignored by the auto formatter.

I noticed that in the loss of the auto tabbing on the continued line.