Author Topic: newbie question - how do you set up a GUI IDE for QB64?  (Read 3191 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline madscijr

  • Seasoned Forum Regular
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
newbie question - how do you set up a GUI IDE for QB64?
« on: July 02, 2021, 11:34:55 am »
Hi everyone

I would like to finally start using a more full-featured GUI IDE for developing QB64 programs.

For one thing I've been doing a lot of coding with user defined types,
and would like IntelliSense when using those variables.
For example if we have
Code: QB64: [Select]
  1. Type MyWidgetType
  2.     name As String
  3.     color As Long
  4.     height As Long
  5. Type MyType
  6.     name As String
  7.     widget As MyWidgetType
  8. Main
  9. Sub Main
  10.     Dim MyVar As MyType
  11.     MyVar.name = "bob"
  12.     MyVar.widget.name = "gimble"
  13.     'etc...
  14. End Sub ' Main
  15.  

when we're editing our code inside a scope where a UDT variable is declared,
when we type the variable's name followed by a ".",
at that point the editor should provide a dropdown of the members of that type.
If we choose a member that is also a UDT, when we type ".",
the editor should provide a sub-dropdown for the child members, etc.

I would also want to be able to press F5 to compile & run my program, just like in the QB64 editor.
A nice to have would be the ability to set breakpoints and step through code
with F8 for line-by-line or F5 for continue to next breakpoint (like in Visual Studio or VBA).

Can anyone recommend a good free Windows editor or IDE capable of this,
and explain how to configure it to do the above with QB64?
I am kind of a dummy when it comes to setting that stuff up.

In the past I have used Visual Studio - not much recently but I know the community edition is free,
and there is Visual Studio Code, which I _think_ can be configured to work with a compiler/debugger?
(Not sure.)
I use Notepad++ as a text editor, not sure if it can be configured to compile/debug?
I would probably like to stick to those since I trust those apps, but I would be open to other suggestions.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated... Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2021, 11:39:33 am by madscijr »

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
Re: newbie question - how do you set up a GUI IDE for QB64?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2021, 12:27:22 pm »
Quote
I use Notepad++ as a text editor, not sure if it can be configured to compile/debug?

Yes, it can.

Check out RhoSigma's package to setup Notepad++ to be used with QB64: https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=809

Offline madscijr

  • Seasoned Forum Regular
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: newbie question - how do you set up a GUI IDE for QB64?
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2021, 03:20:43 pm »
Yes, it can.

Check out RhoSigma's package to setup Notepad++ to be used with QB64: https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=809

Thank you sir, I will give that a try.

Offline TempodiBasic

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
Re: newbie question - how do you set up a GUI IDE for QB64?
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2021, 05:44:07 pm »
Quote
I use Notepad++ as a text editor, not sure if it can be configured to compile/debug?
Yes you can!
To compile I have found 2 ways:
1. set as windows path the path of QB64.exe and use the menu command RUN or press F5 in the mask type this
    1.1
Quote
QB64.exe  $(NAME_PART)
and you'll get the QB64IDE with file loaded into it! Then press F5 in QB64ide to see
          run the code
    1.2 
Quote
QB64.exe  -c $(NAME_PART)
and you'll get  a console window that output the phases of compiling but no run
           the code (like F11 of QB64 IDE)

2.download and install the plug-in  NPPExec
   go into Plugin menu and select NPPExec
   configure checking on Show Console, Console Command History  and Follow options
   go to Execute item of NPPExec plugin  (or press F6) and you'll get the window to type command to execute!
    copy this text or type it into the window
Quote
NPP_SAVE
 X:\XXX\qb64.exe  -c "$(FULL_CURRENT_PATH)"  -o "$(FULL_CURRENT_PATH)"
 NPP_RUN  $(CURRENT_DIRECTORY)  && $(NAME_PART) &&".exe"
at the place of X:\XXX\ you must type your path of QB64.exe or as alternative you must set as enviroment variable the path of QB64.exe, in this last case you must type only
Quote
QB64.EXE  -c "$(FULL_CURRENT_PATH)"  -o "$(FULL_CURRENT_PATH)"

I think that you can find useful these informations... but as Fellippe said you must configure Notepad++ for QB64 language, and you can perform this task using the package made by RhoSigma.

Good Luck!

And if you have catched the point you can set Notepad++ also to use gcc and g+ compilers into internal folder of QB64.
Programming isn't difficult, only it's  consuming time and coffee

Offline Aurel

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: newbie question - how do you set up a GUI IDE for QB64?
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2021, 06:15:04 pm »
Quote
NPP_RUN  $(CURRENT_DIRECTORY)  && $(NAME_PART) &&".exe"

hmm i have problem with this method in my version of QB64 editor...

compilation console invoked and work fine with CurrentDir but resulting .exe is not called
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
https://aurelsoft.ucoz.com
https://www.facebook.com/groups/470369984111370
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Offline TempodiBasic

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1792
    • View Profile
Re: newbie question - how do you set up a GUI IDE for QB64?
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2021, 12:29:15 pm »
@Aureal
yeah I have tried again and with that script
Quote
NPP_RUN  $(CURRENT_DIRECTORY)  && $(NAME_PART) &&".exe"
the file has been compiled and then it opens the folder in which there is the .EXE
while with this you'll get running the .EXE
Quote
NPP_RUN  $(CURRENT_DIRECTORY)\$(NAME_PART).exe
Thanks for feedback!
Programming isn't difficult, only it's  consuming time and coffee