Author Topic: hello +newbie question: redefining shortcut keys? albernate IDE options?  (Read 2855 times)

Offline madscijr

• Seasoned Forum Regular
    • View Profile
Hi everyone, I'm kind of new to QB64, but am enjoying playing with it.

I have some questions for a couple of things that might help make me more productive.

1. Is there a way to configure the QB64 IDE so CTRL+F is find and not CTRL+F3? I am used to the newer standard Microsoft shortcuts and CTRL+F is in muscle memory at this point.

2. Can Visual Studio be set up to be the QB64 IDE or am I stuck with the standard DOS style editor? I can live with that, but figured I'd ask.

A little about me: TLDR version = I started programming in BASIC on 8-bit computers and am happy to find BASIC is alive and well for modern PCs.
A little about me: Long version = I started programming BASIC on a TRS-80 Model 1/3 and TI99/4A in the early 80s, my main inspiration being Atari and arcade games.
I graduated to Commodore 64 for most of the decade, making a bunch of games in BASIC / compiled BASIC / and some 8-bit assembly.
Next I toyed with Pascal on Apple II and early Macs (enjoyable), and some C in school (painful!).
After moving to Windows based PCs (more affordable color computer than Mac!) I briefly played with QuickBasic 4.5 in the mid 90s, before moving to Visual Basic 5 & 6 and beyond.
I did some VB.NET and even C# but they lost me sometime after .NET framework 2.0, especially with the heavy OO (interfaces! enterprise architecture! layered design! MVC! Yuck!) and all the constant changes to the language.
I've been doing JavaScript since the 90s, but a lot of that stuff now uses programming methods that make my head hurt (like closures and crazy OO) and I mainly want to write programs for Windows desktop not a browser. Making a game in JavaScript and HTML5 is just painful, compared to the simplicity I am looking for.