Author Topic: IDE improvements (v1.5)  (Read 11336 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

This topic contains a post which is marked as Best Answer. Press here if you would like to see it.

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
IDE improvements (v1.5)
« on: January 09, 2021, 08:42:23 am »
IDE improvements to look for in upcoming v1.5 - already available in the development build at https://www.qb64.org/portal/development-build/:

SUBs dialog can now show the line count for each SUB/FUNCTION in your program:
  [ You are not allowed to view this attachment ]  

The right-click contextual menu now works in the Help area too (the Edit menu is now also aware that the focus is in the Help area, so Select All and Copy will work with the Help text. Hey @bplus!)
  [ You are not allowed to view this attachment ]  

Also, the status bar will now show the selected line count too (previously only single-line selections would show the count of characters).
  [ You are not allowed to view this attachment ]  

If you are on the beta-testing wagon, please try to break the new features above and report below.

Full changelog at https://github.com/QB64Team/qb64/commits/development.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2021, 08:05:35 pm by FellippeHeitor »

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2021, 09:51:21 am »
We haven't run speed tests, so I can't attest to that. What I can tell you is that the first time you compile a project with a new installation of QB64 it will have to rebuild all libraries, so the first compilation may indeed take longer.

Offline bplus

  • Global Moderator
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 8053
  • b = b + ...
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2021, 10:31:12 am »
Quote
The right-click contextual menu now works in the Help area too (the Edit menu is now also aware that the focus is in the Help area, so Select All and Copy will work with the Help text. Hey @bplus!)

Hey! Thankyou! :)

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2021, 11:13:59 am »
The IDE highlights the offending line in red, and the status bar shows this:

  [ You are not allowed to view this attachment ]  

Is it something different you're referring to?

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2021, 06:25:08 pm »
XP virtual machine.

Offline zaadstra

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2021, 07:19:23 am »
The IDE highlights the offending line in red, and the status bar shows this:

  [ You are not allowed to view this attachment ]  

Is it something different you're referring to?

Silly question that may have been asked before (a thousand times ...)

Is it possible that the IDE highlinghts not only the line, but also where it 'sees' an issue?  In the screenshot example it is quite clear, but there are occasions that I really don't see what/where the problem is.

Offline luke

  • Administrator
  • Seasoned Forum Regular
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2021, 08:39:51 am »
What you're asking for is column information, on top of the current row information.

I tried to add this myself a while back but couldn't see a way to do it. Fellippe might have further insights though.

Offline Petr

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1720
  • The best code is the DNA of the hops.
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2021, 01:46:10 pm »
Hi. We just discovered a possible problem with why _MOUSEMOVEMENT doesn't work. To test _MEMSOUND, I downloaded both 32-bit and 64-bit versions from Github, and that now turned out to be a good thing. In this thread https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=3475.msg127918#msg127918  we discovered a problem with _MOUSEMOVEMENT with @OldMoses. The big help is that it works with the 32-bit version of the IDE, but not with the 64-bit version. I estimate that the wrong data type for the 64-bit version will be used somewhere.

Offline Pete

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 2361
  • Cuz I sez so, varmint!
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2021, 01:50:26 pm »
@zaadstra

Provide the column info, no! QB64 is already too picky. Just look at the above example. While it is clear the coder FORGOT to capitalize the "W" in "world" there is NO reason QB64 shouldn't just pint it!

Pete :D
Want to learn how to write code on cave walls? https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/qbasic/qbasic-f1/

Offline GTC

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 49
  • Programmer's motto: *This* time it will work.
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2021, 09:35:23 am »
What you're asking for is column information, on top of the current row information.

I think this would be very useful. Of all the programming languages I've used, I find Basic the most obtuse when it comes to the interpretation of compilation error messages, and there are occasions when I can sit for some time trying to see the error, whereas a positional flag would save that time (and frustration).

This request has my strong vote.

Offline Dav

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 792
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2021, 09:47:21 am »
v1.5 seems to clear up an odd IDE color problem I had in v1.4-32 bit.  I never did report on it, but sometimes  variable names would be partly colored, like in this screen cap below.  Doesn't happen in v1.5.

- Dav


Offline Dimster

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 500
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2021, 09:48:14 am »
Does the present error detection detect multiple errors on the same line or does it just report upon the first error encountered?

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2021, 09:57:47 am »
v1.5 seems to clear up an odd IDE color problem I had in v1.4-32 bit.  I never did report on it, but sometimes  variable names would be partly colored, like in this screen cap below.  Doesn't happen in v1.5.

- Dav

We did make some adjustments, but that corner case in the picture is surprising. Good to know it's covered!

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2021, 09:58:09 am »
Does the present error detection detect multiple errors on the same line or does it just report upon the first error encountered?

Error reports in the IDE currently only indicate the offending line.

Offline Dav

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 792
    • View Profile
Re: IDE improvements (v1.5)
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2021, 11:03:40 am »
Yes, I'm still using 32-bit QB64, and still enjoying  32-bit Win7. I wouldn't mind getting a 64-bit OS some day, for testing purposes, but I've been fine and dandy using 32-bit.

- Dav