Author Topic: Selling Programs For Profit  (Read 3200 times)

Offline Vits

• View Profile
Selling Programs For Profit
« on: August 08, 2020, 05:47:58 am »
Hi everyone, I'm not new to qb64 and I have been observing around here on the forum for some time. I need to ask if I am allowed to sell software written by me in qb64? I don't use any external libraries, only qb64 stuff like the core language and sound files, image capabilities and so on. I also use OpenGL for rendering sometimes. I can create my own custom sounds, graphics, whatever I need to do.

Thanks in advance

Offline OldMoses

• Seasoned Forum Regular
    • View Profile
Re: Selling Programs For Profit
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2020, 08:26:01 am »
I'm not aware of any restrictions. Do other programming languages have any? I've never sold software, so I have no knowledge of the field. My comments are purely philosophical.

Lot of folks sell stuff coded in C++ which is what QB64 emits to arrive at its executable. If I knew C++, I'd likely code in it. A tool used to create can have no property claim upon your creativity, but that's just my opinion. A carpenter may buy or otherwise acquire a hammer, he does not give the hammer maker a cut of the proceeds when he sells a house.

If you're using copyrighted material, there would probably be some issues. In that case you may have to make certain efforts to comply with IP law. I won't even go into my thoughts on that subject...

Offline Vits

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2020, 12:37:08 pm »
Hmmm ok. Usage in selling usually depends on libraries that are used and not the language itself. I’m wondering if qb64 ‘s source code used any libs that has a restricting license. I’ll probably go look in the Qb64 file folders to see if I can obtain and understand them. I’ll be back I suppose

Offline bplus

• Global Moderator
  • Forum Resident
  • b = b + ...
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2020, 01:09:01 pm »