Author Topic: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing  (Read 18836 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bert22306

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #45 on: January 27, 2020, 04:30:32 pm »
Can you post the code that causes this problem? Since you implied this only happens when using _FULLSCREEN, I tried this little guy here, and it seems to work as I would expect, every time:

Code: [Select]
_FULLSCREEN
FOR i = 1 TO 10
    a = a + 1
NEXT i
PRINT a
FOR i = 1 TO 20
    b = b + 1
NEXT i
PRINT b
END

It says "press any key to continue," and you're back to the IDE. (Windows 10, QB64 v1.4)
« Last Edit: January 27, 2020, 04:33:03 pm by Bert22306 »

Offline bplus

  • Global Moderator
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 8053
  • b = b + ...
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #46 on: January 27, 2020, 04:41:50 pm »
Hi Bert22306,

Make71 says he's using Windows 7.

Offline Bert22306

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #47 on: January 27, 2020, 04:50:03 pm »
I know. It would be nice to know if this is only related to Windows 7. Usually, these bugs do not seem to be related to the Windows version, but who knows.

Offline Make71

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #48 on: January 28, 2020, 05:31:45 am »
"_FULLSCREEN
FOR i = 1 TO 10
    a = a + 1
NEXT i
PRINT a
FOR i = 1 TO 20
    b = b + 1
NEXT i
PRINT b
END"
 It does not work! The same black screen when I pressed any key.

 Reinstalling Windows 7 didn't help!
 However, on my older computer with the same windows everything works!
 Could there be a problem with the graphics card?
 But yes there is something wrong with Qb64 too, because in older version 1.2 everything works on my newer PC.
  I also tried the 32-bit version, but the same black screen will appear when the program finishes.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2020, 06:04:07 am by Make71 »

FellippeHeitor

  • Guest
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #49 on: January 28, 2020, 07:25:57 am »
Does replacing END with SYSTEM make it go away?

Offline doppler

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 241
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #50 on: January 28, 2020, 08:08:15 am »
Maybe related to the graphics driver.  Many and I do mean many, video boards lost support when win 10 came out.  And to top it off, video board mfg's stopped support for some lines after Win 7.  So when win 8, 8.1 came out, they said: "If it works o.k., if it don't no support"

Offline Make71

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #51 on: January 28, 2020, 08:43:08 am »
Does replacing END with SYSTEM make it go away?

"END" or "SYSTEM", both with black screen.

If the program is not in "_FULLSCREEN" mode, it will exit normally.

Offline Make71

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #52 on: January 28, 2020, 09:58:24 am »
Maybe related to the graphics driver.  Many and I do mean many, video boards lost support when win 10 came out.  And to top it off, video board mfg's stopped support for some lines after Win 7.  So when win 8, 8.1 came out, they said: "If it works o.k., if it don't no support"

That's damn true!
And as it was with XP, even though Win7 support ended, it will be used in the world for years to come.

Offline Petr

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1720
  • The best code is the DNA of the hops.
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #53 on: January 28, 2020, 11:03:49 am »
It works fine for me with windows 7 and Nvidia graphics card. The programs will end in a black screen with the words press any key to continue... at the bottom (as expected) and when pressing the key, am back in the IDE.

Offline Make71

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #54 on: January 28, 2020, 11:07:23 am »
Of course, you can work around this by typing:

_FULLSCREEN _OFF: END
or
_FULLSCREEN _OFF: SYSTEM

But you didn't have to do it before! ;-)

It seems that this doesn't always work either!
A small but annoying mistake. :-(

Offline Petr

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1720
  • The best code is the DNA of the hops.
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #55 on: January 28, 2020, 11:17:27 am »
Maybe - what is your monitor resolution? If it's 4K, it's possible no one has ever tested it. Or, there's another thing. Some LCD monitors simply do not display other than their resolution. Try to set a valid resolution for the monitor with _NEWIMAGE, then _FULLSCREEN. Whether the problem persists or it resolves the problem.

Offline Make71

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #56 on: January 28, 2020, 11:17:55 am »
"_FULLSCREEN
FOR i = 1 TO 10
    a = a + 1
NEXT i
PRINT a
FOR i = 1 TO 20
    b = b + 1
NEXT i
PRINT b
END"

I tried this 10 times and it always worked as it should, in version 1.2!

Offline Petr

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1720
  • The best code is the DNA of the hops.
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #57 on: January 28, 2020, 11:30:26 am »
So I really don't know where the problem is. This program works in QB64 in all versions, including 1.4. I think, I don't know exactly what it was then, I was also solving something, I had to turn on some support for the graphics card driver, or in directX, it's been so long, Someone led me, I had some problems with rendering graphics. I had something off in the system. It's quite possible that it will be the same problem. It was something to enable for redraw OpenGL, I really don't know what was it. It's been too long.

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #58 on: January 28, 2020, 11:33:30 am »
I’ve tried to replicate the issue but haven’t had any luck with it with my system.  Whatever it is, it seems to be very machine specific.
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Make71

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: QB64 v1.4 Release Candidate up for testing
« Reply #59 on: January 28, 2020, 11:36:18 am »
Maybe - what is your monitor resolution? If it's 4K, it's possible no one has ever tested it. Or, there's another thing. Some LCD monitors simply do not display other than their resolution. Try to set a valid resolution for the monitor with _NEWIMAGE, then _FULLSCREEN. Whether the problem persists or it resolves the problem.

I tried with many different resolutions that my monitor supports, but the "black screen" does not give up!