Author Topic: QB64-SDL 2020  (Read 9088 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aurel

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #45 on: January 20, 2020, 05:01:30 pm »
Steve
In this internal folder is subfolder called temp2
and inside this folder is only one file called temp.bin

so do i can copy/paste from 1.3 version transfer all files to temp2 folder to get it work.
If that work that would be nice.

..and for Davor ...yes that new 1,3 versiojn 
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
https://aurelsoft.ucoz.com
https://www.facebook.com/groups/470369984111370
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #46 on: January 20, 2020, 05:56:38 pm »
Steve
In this internal folder is subfolder called temp2
and inside this folder is only one file called temp.bin

so do i can copy/paste from 1.3 version transfer all files to temp2 folder to get it work.
If that work that would be nice.

..and for Davor ...yes that new 1,3 versiojn

All you should need to do is make a directory called temp inside the internal folder.  :)



Or, download the latest version of the repo, as it should have this issue fixed for us. 
« Last Edit: January 20, 2020, 06:03:31 pm by SMcNeill »
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Aurel

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #47 on: January 21, 2020, 05:25:39 am »
Hello Steve

Ok,what I'm do is , i simply copy whole temp folder from 1.3 gl version into
( which is by the way too slow for my taste)
... internal folder of your SDL version and voila i get qb64 ide runing.
So now i can test it with my editor finally...
I hope that should work ..
..well i need to find documentation about command line switches for ShellExecute()
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
https://aurelsoft.ucoz.com
https://www.facebook.com/groups/470369984111370
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Offline Aurel

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #48 on: January 21, 2020, 05:36:54 am »
Interesting thing all Mark.s bPlus programs work but many other presented here not .hmmm

ok i think i found it ,so i am going to implement in my editor,i hope that soon i can post more about that,i need some
internal bug fixing and modification for qb64 to work properly.
see ya

Quote
here's what I have from those scripts:

qb64 -c -o outputfilename inputfilename

switches

 -o    output exe filename
 -c    Compile file
 -x    As -c, but use the console instead of a graphical window for pr>
 -z    Do not compile generated C++ code.
 -q    Compile for Qloud.
 -g    Do not include graphics runtime (equivalent to $CONSOLE:ONLY)

All switches imply -c; -z and -q imply -x.

Options must proceed the filename.
 -- can be used as a dummy option to force the next thing to be a file
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 05:43:19 am by Aurel »
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
https://aurelsoft.ucoz.com
https://www.facebook.com/groups/470369984111370
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #49 on: January 21, 2020, 06:13:16 am »
Interesting thing all Mark.s bPlus programs work but many other presented here not .hmmm

ok i think i found it ,so i am going to implement in my editor,i hope that soon i can post more about that,i need some
internal bug fixing and modification for qb64 to work properly.
see ya

SDL development was stopped 3 or 4 years ago, so any program that uses keywords/functions added to the language since that time won’t work, until I catch the two languages up and correct all those inconsistencies that I can.  Already, I’ve expanded SDL with about 40 new keywords, updated the IDE color system somewhat, and fixed the help file system.  The config system has been ripped out and replaced, allowing externally alterable settings and multiple configurations per IDE instance, and we no longer try to dial back to the defunct [abandoned, outdated and now likely malicious qb64 dot net website - don’t go there] site for updates.  All in all, I wouldn’t call that a bad start in bringing SDL back up to speed with the current GL version. ;)

Lots left to do, but I’m happy with the enhancements it has over the old 0.954 version already.  ;)
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Aurel

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #50 on: January 21, 2020, 07:38:01 am »
thanks Steve
according to speed ..yes it is not that much faster..
i configure my editor to work with it , compile work fine with -c
open created exe file not work with -o , simply because compiled exe is not created in the same folder where is the
source code of program..so that is why not work.
As i already reply to Pete , same thing not work in last version 1.3 gl
i really don't know which version he use that this work for him ???
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
https://aurelsoft.ucoz.com
https://www.facebook.com/groups/470369984111370
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #51 on: January 21, 2020, 11:05:06 am »
A current list of commands which (I believe) won't work in SDL, that currently work in the GL version, so folks can use this for quick reference on what they may want to exclude from their toolset when programming the the SDL version:

Code: [Select]
_ACCEPTFILEDROP
_ALLOWFULLSCREEN
_ASSERT
$ASSERTS
_BLINK
_BLINK (function)
_CAPSLOCK (function)
_CAPSLOCK (statement)
_CLIPBOARDIMAGE (function) pastes an image from the clipboard into a new QB64 image in memory.
_CLIPBOARDIMAGE (statement) copies a valid QB64 image to the clipboard.
$COLOR
_COMMANDCOUNT
_CONNECTED
_CONSOLETITLE
_CONTINUE
_DEFLATE$
_DEPTHBUFFER
_DESKTOPHEIGHT
_DESKTOPWIDTH
_DIR$
_DISPLAYORDER
_DROPPEDFILE
$ELSE
$ELSEIF
$END IF
$EXEICON
_FINISHDROP
$IF
_INCLERRORFILE$
_INCLERRORLINE
_INFLATE$
$LET
$NOPREFIX
_NUMLOCK (function)
_NUMLOCK (statement)
OPTION _EXPLICIT
_PRINTSTRING (doesn't work in SCREEN 0)
_READBIT
_RESETBIT
$RESIZE
_RESIZE
_RESIZE (function)
_RESIZEHEIGHT
_RESIZEWIDTH
_SCREENEXISTS
_SCREENICON (function)
_SCREENICON (statement)
_SCROLLLOCK (function)
_SCROLLLOCK (statement)
_SETBIT (function)
_SHL (function)
_SHR (function)
_TITLE$ (function)
_TOGGLEBIT (function)
_TOTALDROPPEDFILES (function)
_TRIM$ (function)
$VERSIONINFO
$VIRTUALKEYBOARD
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #52 on: January 21, 2020, 12:10:37 pm »
Imported several of the missing commands from my previous post into the SDL version.  We now have support for:

_CAPSLOCK
_NUMLOCK
_SCROLLLOCK
_CAPSLOCK (function)
_NUMLOCK (function)
_SCROLLLOCK (function)
_SHL
_SHR
_SETBIT
_READBIT
_TOGGLEBIT
_RESETBIT
_TRIM$



(That now puts QB64 SDL 2020 at having 50 of the new commands which 0.954 didn't support, and 46 more on the list to go.  I'm over half done, it seems!  Too bad I have a feeling that this was the easy half...)
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 12:17:01 pm by SMcNeill »
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Dav

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 792
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #53 on: January 21, 2020, 01:09:11 pm »
Cool.  Thank you for doing this!

- David

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #54 on: January 21, 2020, 01:27:41 pm »
Cool.  Thank you for doing this!

- David

Happy to do it.  As people download and test it out, they can help point out any of the little changes which I’ve overlooked.  Some of the missing commands, I’m not certain if I can reimplement at all, as they use GL libraries for us (such as the $RESIZE commands), but I’ll do what I can.  ;D
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #55 on: January 24, 2020, 12:14:32 pm »
Conversion is slowing down as I'm now to the point where I'm having to hunt down SDL methods to do the things which do using GL routines, but I'm still plugging along at my own slow pace as I sort this stuff out...

_DESKTOPWIDTH and _DESKTOPHEIGHT were added into SDL today, taking 2 more keywords off the incompatible list for us.  I think at this point, there's only about 30 to go (not counting that whole slew of _gl keywords, which we'll never see converted over for use -- well, at least never converted over *by me*, I'm certain).



Commands still not implemented are:
_ACCEPTFILEDROP
_ALLOWFULLSCREEN
_ASSERT
$ASSERTS
_BLINK
_BLINK (function)
_CLIPBOARDIMAGE (function) pastes an image from the clipboard into a new QB64 image in memory.
_CLIPBOARDIMAGE (statement) copies a valid QB64 image to the clipboard.
$COLOR
_COMMANDCOUNT
_CONNECTED
_CONSOLETITLE
_CONTINUE
_DEFLATE$
_DEPTHBUFFER
_DIR$
_DISPLAYORDER
_DROPPEDFILE
$ELSE
$ELSEIF
$END IF
$EXEICON
_FINISHDROP
$IF
_INCLERRORFILE$
_INCLERRORLINE
_INFLATE$
$LET
$NOPREFIX
OPTION _EXPLICIT
_PRINTSTRING (doesn't work in SCREEN 0)
$RESIZE
_RESIZE
_RESIZE (function)
_RESIZEHEIGHT
_RESIZEWIDTH
_SCREENEXISTS
_SCREENICON (function)
_SCREENICON (statement)
_TITLE$ (function)
_TOTALDROPPEDFILES (function)
$VERSIONINFO
$VIRTUALKEYBOARD
« Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 12:16:41 pm by SMcNeill »
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline keybone

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 116
  • My name a Nursultan Tulyakbay.
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #56 on: January 26, 2020, 01:48:54 am »
_DESKTOPWIDTH and _DESKTOPHEIGHT were added into SDL today, taking 2 more keywords off the incompatible list for us.  I think at this point, there's only about 30 to go (not counting that whole slew of _gl keywords, which we'll never see converted over for use -- well, at least never converted over *by me*, I'm certain).

_DESKTOPWIDTH and _DESKTOPHEIGHT were commands that I've been hoping for, awesome that they're included now. :-)
I am from a Kazakhstan, we follow the hawk.

Offline QBExile

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #57 on: January 26, 2020, 08:39:57 am »
Thank you very much for this piece of work to bring the SDL version into the 2020's Steve!

Offline RhoSigma

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #58 on: February 21, 2020, 01:29:51 pm »
Hi Steve,

any chance that we see the pre-compiler meta commands added at some point in the future?
My Projects:   https://qb64forum.alephc.xyz/index.php?topic=809
GuiTools - A graphic UI framework (can do multiple UI forms/windows in one program)
Libraries - ImageProcess, StringBuffers (virt. files), MD5/SHA2-Hash, LZW etc.
Bonus - Blankers, QB64/Notepad++ setup pack

Offline RhoSigma

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #59 on: June 13, 2020, 06:17:55 pm »
Hi Steve,
just released a new version of my GuiTools Framework.

Before I release things, I usually check if they properly compile in the historical SDL 0.954 version and the latest stable new GL versions of QB64 (both, 32/64 bits).

This time I added your SDL 2020 updated version from your repo in my testing chain for the 1st time and found that the IDE will crash after a few seconds when syntax checking any loaded GuiTools application (from the src_XXX folders). As far as I could find out, it must be some recursion bug in the $INCLUDE handling, because if I paste the include's contents into the sources (in place of the $INCLUDE lines) to put everything together in one big file, then it works fine and the programs will also properly compile.

Maybe you can have a look at this, if your time allows, no need to hurry...
My Projects:   https://qb64forum.alephc.xyz/index.php?topic=809
GuiTools - A graphic UI framework (can do multiple UI forms/windows in one program)
Libraries - ImageProcess, StringBuffers (virt. files), MD5/SHA2-Hash, LZW etc.
Bonus - Blankers, QB64/Notepad++ setup pack