Author Topic: QB64-SDL 2020  (Read 7817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pete

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 2361
  • Cuz I sez so, varmint!
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #30 on: January 13, 2020, 08:37:41 pm »
Busy day around the farm here today, so I didn't have a change to update much.  I am trying to make at least a small change every day, to try and get the SDL version to mimic the same behavior as we see in the GL version, but all I got finished today was the ability to indent SUBs/FUNCTIONs in the IDE when auto-spacing is on. 

Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day with a little more free time, but for now, it's still another small step forward.  :P

Maybe your luck will chance, tomorrow! :D

Pete

A typo a day keeps the proctor away.
Want to learn how to write code on cave walls? https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/qbasic/qbasic-f1/

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #31 on: January 14, 2020, 02:51:59 pm »
Several little changes today:

Config File has been cleaned up so that it now only reflects the actual settings that are currently support and usable in the SDL version.  (I'll add more options over time, but I'm back to the point where it seems I have to make other building blocks to continue moving forwards... ;D )  It currently looks like this:

Code: [Select]
'[CONFIG VERSION]
ConfigVersion = 1

'[GENERAL SETTINGS]
DebugInfo = FALSE 'INTERNAL VARIABLE USE ONLY!! DO NOT MANUALLY CHANGE!
BackupSize = 1000 'in MB
AllowIndependentSettings = TRUE

'[IDE COLOR SETTINGS]
TextColor = _RGB32(255,255,255)
QuoteColor = _RGB32(255,255,85)
MetaCommandColor = _RGB32(85,255,85)
CommentColor = _RGB32(85,255,255)
BackgroundColor = _RGB32(0,0,170)

'[IDE DISPLAY SETTINGS]
IDE_IndentSUBs = TRUE
IDE_CodePage = 0
IDE_CustomFont = FALSE
IDE_CustomFont$ = "c:\windows\fonts\lucon.ttf"
IDE_CustomFontSize = 21
IDE_AutoFormat = TRUE
IDE_AutoIndent = TRUE
IDE_IndentSize = 4
IDE_Height = 25
IDE_Width = 80
IDE_AutoPosition = TRUE

'[MOUSE SETTINGS]
SwapMouseButton = FALSE



Implemented the following settings so they're now working in both the IDE and the external config file:
IDE_AutoFormat
IDE_AutoIndent
IDE_IndentSize
SwapMouseButton



SELECT EVERYCASE now works in SDL as it does in the GL version.  (I thought I'd made this change into the language ages ago!  I would've sworn it was in SDL, but it's not!  Who knew??)



Finally remembered to update my version number too.  :P
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #32 on: January 16, 2020, 04:36:10 am »
Finally removed the last of the old config file out of the SDL version.  Everything that it used to do, we now can handle and work with externally with the new config file system.   



A nice big change: 

The SDL help files no longer attempt to dial up to [abandoned, outdated and now likely malicious qb64 dot net website - don’t go there] and download information from the web.  All the internal routines (as well as the help files) have been swapped out and now work with the QB64.org wiki (the one we all know and love from the official Qb64 site here). 

NOTE: This gives us help support for commands which SDL doesn't actually support (like all the _gl commands which only work with openGL), but I figure that's a much better option than trying to dial out to some unknown website and downloading who-knows-what onto someone's PC.  It also keeps the help files up-to-date to what the current syntax is, rather than the veeeeery old and outdated information which was packaged with the last SDL-version 0.954 many years back. 

Help is once again, in my opinion at least, helpful to use now in SDL.
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Jack002

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 123
  • Boss, l wanna talk about arrays
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #33 on: January 16, 2020, 12:21:30 pm »
Closet, Closest... Huh, my "s" is missing!Well, that was embarras-s-ing. Why didn't someone hand my s?

Pete :D

Clearly, Pete has gotten off his S
QB64 is the best!

Offline Pete

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 2361
  • Cuz I sez so, varmint!
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #34 on: January 16, 2020, 12:47:19 pm »
Actually, I'm sitting on my S right now, reading this. I suppose I could state my S hasn't gotten off in years, but then we'd have to revisit that whole closet issue, again.

Great to have the ET phone home issue resolved. I had completely forgot about that little "gem."

Pete
« Last Edit: January 16, 2020, 12:49:44 pm by Pete »
Want to learn how to write code on cave walls? https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/qbasic/qbasic-f1/

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #35 on: January 17, 2020, 03:13:10 am »
With a little work, I've packaged up everything required so folks can download and install the updated SDL-2020 on Linux, for use, if they want.  Grab it from my personal forums here: http://www.smcneill.online/mybb/thread-45.html

NOTE: The following libraries will need to be downloaded and installed with sudo apt-get install, before running the ./setup.sh script which comes with the QB64 SDL-2020 Linux version, if they're not already on your system. 

libsdl1.2-dev
libsdl-image1.2-dev
libsdl-mixer1.2-dev
libsdl-net1.2-dev
libsdl-ttf2.0-dev
timidity
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #36 on: January 17, 2020, 05:17:57 am »
Swapped default behavior for the Run and Run (Detached) commands -- they're now Run and Run (Locked).  Run will compile and run your program independent of the IDE.  Run (Locked) will lock the IDE until it compiles and you finish running the program.



Added a few more commands into the toolset:
_CWD$
_STARTDIR$
_KEYCLEAR
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Pete

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 2361
  • Cuz I sez so, varmint!
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #37 on: January 17, 2020, 09:58:23 am »
Go Steve go!!!

Pete
Want to learn how to write code on cave walls? https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/qbasic/qbasic-f1/

Offline Dav

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 792
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #38 on: January 18, 2020, 07:03:42 am »
Thanks, Steve!  I downloaded the latest this morning.  I needed to create a temp folder in the internal folder to run it without path errors first, but after that it's loading and compiling my BAS files.

- Dav

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #39 on: January 18, 2020, 08:51:15 am »
Thanks, Steve!  I downloaded the latest this morning.  I needed to create a temp folder in the internal folder to run it without path errors first, but after that it's loading and compiling my BAS files.

- Dav

Thanks for the report Dav.  I’ll make a note of it for now so others will be able to work around the issue, and I’ll work on getting rid of the problem in future updates.  👍
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Aurel

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #40 on: January 20, 2020, 09:14:42 am »
Quote
GL comiles those libraries in the project,
sorry Pete but that is not true , it compile into home/core folder where is qb64.exe not into project folder
and looks to me slow.
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
https://aurelsoft.ucoz.com
https://www.facebook.com/groups/470369984111370
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Offline Aurel

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #41 on: January 20, 2020, 09:31:24 am »
Steve
I download sdl version from a given link and unpack content then
try to run qb64.exe ..and i get error
is that maybe fixed ..thanks!

IDEmoduleError.gif
* IDEmoduleError.gif (Filesize: 27.64 KB, Dimensions: 830x519, Views: 230)
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
https://aurelsoft.ucoz.com
https://www.facebook.com/groups/470369984111370
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #42 on: January 20, 2020, 09:55:11 am »
Steve
I download sdl version from a given link and unpack content then
try to run qb64.exe ..and i get error
is that maybe fixed ..thanks!

Dav reported on that above:  “  I needed to create a temp folder in the internal folder to run it without path errors first, but after that it's loading and compiling my BAS files.”

Apparently git is ignoring the internal/temp folder and not creating it for us (it needs at least a blank file in the directory to maintain the file structure, as git tries to clean/erase empty ones).  I haven’t fixed that with the repo yet, but if you simply make an internal\temp folder, that should correct the issue for you, until I can fix a proper placeholder in the repo. 



And if that doesn’t work, let me know, and I’ll definitely dig deeper to see what theissue may be, andthen report back for you.
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Davor

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #43 on: January 20, 2020, 11:39:22 am »
It is interesting that new QB64 versions use 7x more CPU for empty IDE window (200x70):

QB64 v1.4: 27-44% CPU
Steve SDL Update: 4-7% CPU

(Windows 10 32-bit on dual core Athlon 64 X2 5600+, GeForce 210)

Offline Aurel

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: QB64-SDL 2020
« Reply #44 on: January 20, 2020, 03:12:05 pm »
Hi Steve

Quote
I haven’t fixed that with the repo yet, but if you simply make an internal\temp folder, that should correct the issue for you, until I can fix a proper placeholder in the repo. 

If I understand you properly
I must create folder called temp , is that all?
i mean for now to see IS work or not ?
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
https://aurelsoft.ucoz.com
https://www.facebook.com/groups/470369984111370
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////