Author Topic: Functions of colors with different results.... [EXPLAINED]  (Read 3132 times)

Offline TempodiBasic

• Forum Resident
    • View Profile
Functions of colors with different results.... [EXPLAINED]
« on: April 30, 2019, 11:25:36 am »
Hi guys

I'm writing something in graphic mode. The well suited graphic in QB64 is 32bit mode so I try to do something in that mode...

but I fall in this issue...
sorry but I am an hobbiest programmer and I don't know if these my results are right or a feature in developing of QB64 functions that calculate the value of the color as a long number (_RGB, _RGB32, _RGBA, _RGBA32)...
I have thought about them like math functions that return a value after getting some input values.... but I find that their results are different in front of their position before or after screen initialization... can the settings of the screen modify the results of these functions?

here two codes to show the issue...
Code: QB64: [Select]
  1. CONST XMaxScreen = 600, YMaxScreen = 500, Opaque = 255
  2. _TITLE " Functions of colors before screen settings"
  4. DIM a(1 TO 4) AS LONG
  5. a(1) = _RGB(255, 127, 27)
  6. a(2) = _RGB32(255, 127, 170)
  7. a(3) = _RGBA(255, 127, 220, Opaque)
  8. a(4) = _RGBA(255, 127, 127, Opaque)
  9. SCREEN _NEWIMAGE(XMaxScreen, YMaxScreen, 32)
  10. FOR b = 1 TO 4 STEP 1
  11.     LINE (10, 10 * b)-(300, 300 / b), a(b)
  12.     LOCATE 1, 1: PRINT b: _DELAY .5

1. CONST XMaxScreen = 600, YMaxScreen = 500, Opaque = 255
  2. _TITLE " Functions of colors after screen settings"
  3. SCREEN _NEWIMAGE(XMaxScreen, YMaxScreen, 32)
  4. DIM a(1 TO 4) AS LONG
  8. a(4) = _RGBA(255, 127, 127, Opaque)
  10. FOR b = 1 TO 4 STEP 1
  11.     LINE (10, 10 * b)-(300, 300 / b), a(b)
  12.     LOCATE 1, 1: PRINT b: _DELAY .5
here a screenshot attached  [ You are not allowed to view this attachment ]  
Thanks to read and to give feedback
Programming isn't difficult, only it's  consuming time and coffee

Offline bplus

• Global Moderator