Author Topic: Started working on my IDE again, more info...  (Read 11855 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RNBW

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #30 on: October 05, 2018, 07:16:10 am »
Open an '$INCLUDE file from its IDE for editing.

Could be a handy function.

Menu options for handy tools like calc, notepad - not so useful. I have those at my finger tips always. Not needed in the editor. I'd like the IDE to be a clean QB IDE not a muddled QB/os tool interface.

Dav

As a long time user of your IDE, I'm looking forward to your update.

At the moment only one code page can be open at a time, so it would be useful to be able to open Notepad from the menu to do some 'dirty' programming, copying and pasting sections of code, etc.  I have these programs on my computer (obviously, otherwise you couldn't link to them) but it would be much quicker to access them from the IDE menu. I must say I don't have much use for the calculator.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2018, 08:33:44 pm by odin »

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #31 on: October 05, 2018, 08:17:12 am »
My request:  Seperation of code into tabbed modules.  A tab for DECLARATION, one for MAIN, and one for SUB/FUNCTION. 

In Declarations would go TYPEs, DIM SHARED, CONST and other such global variables as we'd normally place in a *.BI file.  Main would, of course, be the main program, with Subs and Functions being off in the third tab.   This would keep code much cleaner and easier to reference, without one losing their spot in a program where they're working, and would help with ease of library creation -- especially if you add a simple "Save as Library" option in the file menu that saves each tab with the same name but different extensions.  ;)
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline Dav

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 792
    • View Profile
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #32 on: October 05, 2018, 10:51:16 am »
Thanks for the feedback/requests everyone.  I also don't like a cluttered interface so will try to keep things tidy when adding things.   Steve, that's a neat suggestion.  I will see what I can do there.  BTW, hope you're feeling better....

I went ahead and added opening included files, opened in QB64 for now, but will switch over to opening a 2nd instance of my IDE for them when I make sure there's no cross-data problems.  Instead of clicking on the names to open them, like in QB64, I put them in the "Goto..." menu along with SUB/FUNCTION names.  Select file from list to open them.

I appreciate your replies/suggestions.  It's interesting hearing the things others like in an IDE.  At first I made this IDE for myself, because at the time QB64's IDE was very buggy and slow.  Now QB64's IDE is so good, and I'm very content using it, but will continue working on my IDE for you who want it. 

- Dav

Offline codeguy

  • Forum Regular
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #33 on: October 05, 2018, 05:43:19 pm »
Double-click word select, triple-click line select. Just saying. Yes, you too can "steal" OpenInclude() my recursive source loader. Edit: yeah, it can be converted to your favorite language with a * and some other minor syntactic changes. STILL would like double and triple click selection features. Or single and double and make triple click like a select all.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2018, 11:08:54 pm by codeguy »

Offline SMcNeill

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 3972
    • View Profile
    • Steve’s QB64 Archive Forum
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #34 on: October 05, 2018, 05:52:48 pm »
Double-click word select, triple-click line select. Just saying. Yes, you too can "steal" OpenInclude() my recursive source loader.

Except for one problem:  Dav's IDE isn't in QB64.  ;)
https://github.com/SteveMcNeill/Steve64 — A github collection of all things Steve!

Offline davidshq

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #35 on: October 17, 2018, 10:15:43 pm »
Am I missing the link to where I can download the greatest and latest edition of your IDE Dave?

Thanks!

Offline Dav

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 792
    • View Profile
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #36 on: October 18, 2018, 09:08:19 am »
The latest one for download is DavsIDE v1.29 (442k), but you probably have tried this version already since it hasn't been updated in 5 years.  I'm getting v1.30 ready, it's going a bit going slower than I thought due to heavier work load this month than usual.

- Dav

Offline Dav

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 792
    • View Profile
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #37 on: October 18, 2018, 09:49:53 pm »
Just to keep you all updated with how the IDE update is coming, here are some of the changes already implemented.  Like I mentioned before, this is more a maintenance & getting my feet wet again update instead of adding new features.

* added: New QB64 Keywords to IDE
* added: Goto '$INCLUDE file... to open include files in QB64
* added: Beautify Code in edit menu (Ctrl+B) shortcut (autoformat entire code)
* added: External tools menu:  calls windows notepad, calculator, command prompt
* added: Experimental auto-formatting editing mode, for testing purposes only.
* fixed: Space in path bug when compiling or opening file in QB64.
* fixed: Several long-time bugs due to sloppy coding practice.
* fixed: Changed all references to [abandoned, outdated and now likely malicious qb64 dot net website - don’t go there] to qb64.org.

There are internal changes done which are not worth mentioning.  Had to restructure parts of the code.
Now doing some time consuming jobs like adding new help info, updating old stuff, readme, etc.

- Dav

Offline davidshq

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
« Reply #38 on: October 18, 2018, 10:46:36 pm »
Sounds great! Going to grab the current version now! Not sure if you saw the graphical IDE thread, particularly my and anon1's posts.

We are of the (minority?) opinion that a more contemporary GUI would be a huge boost to QB64's popularity. Wondering if you'd ever consider open sourcing the IDE code? Maybe we could help rewrite in QB64? Or perhaps work with PureBasic as it is now and then QB64 down the road?

Just a thought, totally understand if you want to keep it closed up. :)

Dave
« Last Edit: November 24, 2018, 08:28:27 pm by odin »