Author Topic: Dumb question #365B.101  (Read 1791 times)

This topic contains a post which is marked as Best Answer. Press here if you would like to see it.

Offline Jon Richfield

Dumb question #365B.101
« on: June 06, 2020, 07:15:20 am »
Hi anyone,

I am no programmer anymore, using QB64 just as a lazy convenience tool, but I found a need for an old sort I wrote for another purpose more than 20 years ago in MS VB and am in the process of trying to translate it instead of rewriting it.

I expected to suffer of course, but ...

Now, most of it is not causing obvious drama, though more keeps surfacing, but as an old assembly language programmer, I like to access the data in native format, and the original program used the concept of high values, strings of bytes with all one-bits, and in particular I was trying to create 8-byte strings of high values or referring to them as a CONST "********"

When that did not work though Const LowVal = "" DID work (apparently) I tried to create the string with DIM pluss assignment, and all went pear-shaped.

* How do I define a constant of a string of length of 8 bytes with all 1-bits. (Defining an empty string Const as "" looks happy).
* How do I instead define a variable string with an 8-byte string of ASCII-255 characters? I have tried several versions of &HFF expressions without success
* I was using option explicit in VB and kept it in QB64 (I like that option) and Dim HiVal as STRING I get all sorts of pain like getting diagnostics about missing commas (well, there WAS no comma, sure, but I could not find any reference to which comma with what meaning or where. (eg DIM HiVal$ AS STRING    gets me a missing comma. Dim HiVals as string gets me variable not defined. etc)
* If I finally quiet that diagnostic then I get more diagnostics in which it fails to recognise variables as string variables in spite of having DIMmed *everything*