QB64.org Forum

Active Forums => QB64 Discussion => Topic started by: Dav on September 21, 2018, 08:10:26 pm

Title: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on September 21, 2018, 08:10:26 pm
I finally found the source code to DavsIDE on an old laptop, and since there still seems to be some interest in it I've decided to start working on it again.  The next update will just be a maintenance one, fixing known issues and adding new QB64 commands that have been added since the last IDE update.  Can't say when an update will be ready, I really don't have very much free coding time, currently playing about 60 gigs/month, but I will put the IDE back on my list of active projects to work on.

- Dav
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: FellippeHeitor on September 21, 2018, 08:21:13 pm
That's really cool, Dav.

About those gigs, any videos online? Off-topic, I know, but just curious!
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: STxAxTIC on September 21, 2018, 09:58:49 pm
Look at those avatars... Sure you guys aren't the same person?
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on September 21, 2018, 11:13:45 pm
STxAxTIC:  Lol.. Nope.  Fellippe has a much better smile.

Fillippe: Nothing worth bragging about.  But I can try and find something to share.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on September 22, 2018, 10:10:33 am
Thanks, anon1.  I started working on it again this morning. 

Wow, 63 new keywords have been added to QB64 since the last IDE update (in 2013).  Lots of cool new commands I didn't know about like, __WINDOWHANDLE, _WINDOWHASFOCUS.  Adding these to the IDE now.

I'm temporarily removing the brick wall I hit with the real-time indenting and sytax-checking routines I was working on 5 years ago.  Instead I may add a 'Beautify code' selection in the 'Edit' menu to auto-indent the code to get by for now.
 
- Dav
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on September 22, 2018, 12:38:22 pm
Ok.  Here's a screenshot of working on it just now.  Updating the CheckForNewVersion procedure in the source (notice it's around line number 18.2k - the IDE has over 20k lines of code right now).

- Dav

  [ This attachment cannot be displayed inline in 'Print Page' view ]  
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: RNBW on September 22, 2018, 01:16:59 pm
Dav
Great to see you working on your IDE again.

Apart from the indent of loops etc, a couple of things I'd like to see are:
1.  Be able to choose your own coding font and size.  Currently, if you choose custom font it is for the whol IDE.
2.  Be able to restrict the number of characters in a line, with word wrap.

Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: TerryRitchie on September 22, 2018, 02:42:54 pm
I went to the PureBASIC website to check it out. They make another product called SpiderBASIC.

Go to this website and click on showcase: https://www.spiderbasic.com/index.php

Get ready to have your mind blown.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Pete on September 22, 2018, 04:12:54 pm
I guess I missed the mind blowing part. I mean I wouldn't mind... never mind. :P

In Ap Purchase example doesn't include word wrap. That just blows.

It seems move event driven to me and a lot of creations like this don't interest me because you can't get under the hood and customize them.

But I have an open (non-blown) mind, and a great deal of respect for you and your creations, so maybe I'm missing something. What exactly blew you away? Oh, is it because it runs on the web? I mean sure, I wish we could have that with QB64, certainly.

Pete

Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: TerryRitchie on September 22, 2018, 04:18:47 pm
The BASIC language used to develop web content, that was mind-blowing to me. It amazes me how so many people in other language circles bash BASIC but it always seems to pop up in unusual, and useful, places.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Pete on September 22, 2018, 04:37:40 pm
Ah, that's what I thought. Well, like QB64, it's a translator project, BASIC to JavaScript.

What I thought would be amazing, some years ago, was a way to use HTML/CSS web graphics with QB statements. I would have also liked or settled for a BASIC language that would somehow run in a webpage window, even if it was just locally.

Anyway, thanks for elaborating.

... and now back to Dav :D

Pete

 
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on September 22, 2018, 05:10:36 pm
@RNBW: Thanks for the suggestions.  An earlier IDE version let users choose font & size, but I removed it when realizing using other fonts messed up High ASCII code in some code.  So I made a code page 437 font, 3 sizes of it eventually.  The word wrap I could probably add, will see if it can be done easily with just scintilla calls - but if it messes up the way I'm doing lines/linecount I'll have to reprogram some things.

@anon1:  Thanks for the link. That's sure is a good looking editor. Yes, the IDE is being made in PureBasic.

- Dav
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: TerryRitchie on September 22, 2018, 06:13:56 pm
Wow, 63 new keywords have been added to QB64 since the last IDE update (in 2013).

Dav, you wouldn't happen to have that list in a text file you could copy/paste here would you?  I have not had time to go through the Wiki to look for everything new. A list of new commands would be very helpful.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on September 22, 2018, 06:17:11 pm
Sure do, Terry.  Here you go....

- Dav

EDIT: Oops, I left in _NEWIMAGE, that isn't that new...

Code: QB64: [Select]
  1. _A
  2. _ACOS (function) arccosine function returns the angle in radians based on an input COSine value range from -1 to 1.
  3. _ACOSH (function) Returns the nonnegative arc hyperbolic cosine of x, expressed in radians.
  4. _ARCCOT (function) is the inverse function of the cotangent. . http://mathworld.wolfram.com/InverseCosecant.html
  5. _ARCCSC (function) is the inverse function of the cosecant. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/InverseCosecant.html
  6. _ARCSEC (function) is the inverse function of the secant. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/InverseSecant.html
  7. _ASIN (function) Returns the principal value of the arc sine of x, expressed in radians.
  8. _ASINH (function) Returns the arc hyperbolic sine of x, expressed in radians.
  9. _ATAN2 (function) Returns the principal value of the arc tangent of y/x, expressed in radians.
  10. _ATANH (function) Returns the arc hyperbolic tangent of x, expressed in radians.
  11.  
  12. _B
  13. _BLINK (statement) statement turns blinking colors on/off in SCREEN 0
  14. _BLINK (function) returns -1 if enabled or 0 if disabled by _BLINK statement.
  15.  
  16.  
  17. _C
  18. _CEIL (function) Rounds x upward, returning the smallest integral value that is not less than x.
  19. _CLIPBOARDIMAGE (function) pastes an image from the clipboard into a new QB64 image in memory.
  20. _CLIPBOARDIMAGE (statement) copies a valid QB64 image to the clipboard.
  21. _COMMANDCOUNT (function) returns the number of arguments passed to the compiled program from the command line.
  22. _CONTINUE (statement) skips the remaining lines in a control block (DO/LOOP, FOR/NEXT or WHILE/WEND)
  23. _COT (function) the mathematical function cotangent defined by 1/TAN. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/Cotangent.html
  24. _COTH (function) Returns the hyperbolic cotangent. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/HyperbolicCotangent.html
  25. _COSH (function) Returns the hyperbolic cosine of x radians. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/HyperbolicCosine.html
  26. _CSC (function) the mathematical function cosecant defined by 1/SIN. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/Cosecant.html
  27. _CSCH (function) Returns the hyperbolic cosecant. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/HyperbolicCosecant.html
  28. _CWD$ (function) returns the current working directory as a STRING value.
  29.  
  30.  
  31. _D
  32. _D2G (function) converts degrees to gradient angle values.
  33. _D2R (function) converts degrees to radian angle values.
  34. _DEPTHBUFFER (statement) enables, disables, locks or clears depth buffering.
  35. _DESKTOPHEIGHT (function) returns the height of the desktop (not program window).
  36. _DESKTOPWIDTH (function) returns the width of the desktop (not program window).
  37. _DIR$ (function) returns common paths in Windows only, like My Documents, My Pictures, My Music, Desktop.
  38. _DISPLAYORDER (statement) designates the order to render software, hardware and custom-opengl-code.
  39.  
  40.  
  41. _E
  42. $ELSE (Pre-Compiler Metacommand) used in conjunction with $IF for the precompiler.
  43. $ELSEIF (Pre-Compiler Metacommand) used in conjunction with $IF for the precompiler.
  44. $END IF (Pre-Compiler Metacommand) used in conjunction with $IF for the precompiler.
  45. $EXEICON (Pre-Compiler Metacommand) used with a .ICO icon file name to embed the image into the QB64 executable.
  46.  
  47.  
  48. _F
  49.  
  50. _G
  51. _G2D (function) converts gradient to degree angle values.
  52. _G2R (function) converts gradient to radian angle values.
  53.  
  54.  
  55. _H
  56. _HYPOT (function) Returns the hypotenuse of a right-angled triangle whose legs are x and y.
  57.  
  58.  
  59. _I
  60. $IF (Pre-Compiler Metacommand) used to set an IF condition for the precompiler.
  61. _INCLERRORFILE$ {function) returns the name of the original source code $INCLUDE module that caused the most recent error.
  62. _INCLERRORLINE (function) returns the line number in an included file that caused the most recent error.
  63.  
  64.  
  65. _K
  66. _KEYCLEAR (function) clears the keyboard buffers for INKEY$, _KEYHIT, and INP.
  67.  
  68.  
  69. _L
  70. $LET (Pre-Compiler Metacommand) used to set a flag variable for the precompiler.
  71.  
  72.  
  73. _M
  74. _MOUSEPIPEOPEN (function) creates a pipe handle value for a mouse when using a virtual keyboard.
  75.  
  76.  
  77. _N
  78. _NEWIMAGE (function) creates a designated size program SCREEN or page image and returns a handle value.
  79. (Return to Table of Contents)
  80.  
  81.  
  82. _O
  83. OPTION _EXPLICIT (Pre-compiler directive) instructs the compiler to require variable declaration with DIM or an equivalent statement.
  84.  
  85. _P
  86. _PI (function) returns the value of p or parameter multiples for angle or circle calculations.
  87.  
  88.  
  89. _R
  90. _R2D (function) converts radians to degree angle values.
  91. _R2G (function) converts radians to gradient angle values.
  92.  
  93.  
  94. _S
  95. _SEC (function) the mathematical function secant defined by 1/COS. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/Secant.html
  96. _SECH (function) Returns the hyperbolic secant. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/HyperbolicSecant.html
  97. _SCREENEXISTS (function) returns a -1 value once a screen has been created.
  98. _SCREENICON (function) returns -1 or 0 to indicate if the window has been minimized to an icon on the taskbar.
  99. _SCREENICON (statement) minimizes the program window to an icon on the taskbar.
  100. _SINH (function) Returns the hyperbolic sine of x radians.
  101. _SNDOPENRAW (function) opens a new channel to shove _SNDRAW content into without mixing.
  102. _STARTDIR$ (function) returns the user's program calling path as a STRING.
  103. _STRCMP (function) compares the relationship between two strings.
  104. _STRICMP (function) compares the relationship between two strings, without regard for case-sensitivity.
  105.  
  106.  
  107. _T
  108. _TANH (function) Returns the hyperbolic tangent of x radians.
  109. _TITLE$ (function) gets the program title string value.
  110.  
  111.  
  112. _V
  113. $VERSIONINFO (Metacommand) adds metadata to Windows only binaries for identification purposes across the OS.
  114. $VIRTUALKEYBOARD (Metacommand) turns the virtual keyboard ON or OFF for use in touch-enabled devices
  115.  
  116.  
  117. _W
  118. _WINDOWHANDLE (function) returns the window handle assigned to the current program by the OS. Windows-only.
  119. _WINDOWHASFOCUS (function) returns true (-1) if the current program's window has focus. Windows-only.
  120.  
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: FellippeHeitor on September 22, 2018, 06:21:00 pm
With these coming in 1.3: https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=304.msg2554#msg2554
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: TerryRitchie on September 22, 2018, 06:33:46 pm
Awesome, thanks guys!

LOL  _HYPOT

I just created a function to do this exact thing the other day. I'll need to see what other new commands can replace functions I've been creating.

Oh my goodness, radian and degree angle functions too. Again, created these as well.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: SMcNeill on September 22, 2018, 06:52:43 pm
Awesome, thanks guys!

LOL  _HYPOT

I just created a function to do this exact thing the other day. I'll need to see what other new commands can replace functions I've been creating.

Oh my goodness, radian and degree angle functions too. Again, created these as well.

And poor Clippy almost burst a blood vessel when I added those into the language.  He didn't need them for his code, so he didn't think anyone else did either...

Always makes me happy when I hear of people making use of them.  :D
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: TerryRitchie on September 22, 2018, 06:59:04 pm
I remember when he used to get highly upset at the mere mention of a new command.

I don't miss those days.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: TerryRitchie on September 22, 2018, 07:07:35 pm
Drag and drop functions coming! Outstanding!
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: FellippeHeitor on September 22, 2018, 07:11:29 pm
Drag and drop functions coming! Outstanding!

You can already try it out in the latest dev build. Here's sample usage: https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=304.msg2561#msg2561

BTW, the most recent dev build already has the CTRL+T shortcut to toggle comments and a way to hide the back arrow, as per request. And it also supports dragging a .bas file from a folder into the IDE while it's running, making use of the new statements (in Windows).
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: SMcNeill on September 22, 2018, 07:16:15 pm
I remember when he used to get highly upset at the mere mention of a new command.

I don't miss those days.

One important reason for these commands, which Clippy never seemed to understand, is the speed benefits of some of these commands.  From memory, _HYPOT is dozens of times faster than trying to calculate the value yourself.

c = _HYPOT(a, b)    vs.     c = SQR(a ^ 2 + b ^ 2)

Have fun and time a loop doing each of the above a few thousand times, and then compare the times for them.  Unless something has seriously changed, the first should be quite a bit faster than the second.

Code: QB64: [Select]
  1.  
  2. t = TIMER
  3. FOR a = 1 TO 10000
  4.     FOR b = 1 TO 1000
  5.         c = _HYPOT(a, b)
  6.     NEXT
  7. t2 = TIMER
  8.  
  9. FOR a = 1 TO 10000
  10.     FOR b = 1 TO 1000
  11.         c = SQR(a ^ 2 + b ^ 2)
  12.     NEXT
  13. t3 = TIMER
  14.  
  15. PRINT USING "##.### seconds for Hypot"; t2 - t
  16. PRINT USING "##.### seconds for Math stuff"; t3 - t2
  17.  
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on September 22, 2018, 09:41:52 pm
Fixed a couple bugs tonight.  The one where spaces in the path failed to open/compile was an easy fix - just had to surround the call with quotes.  I should have known that.  Quotes are needed using qb64 from a cmd prompt as well.

For example, this will fail if you try to manually load a BAS file from cmd...

C:\qb64>qb64 c:\qb64\new folder\insaneclone.bas

This is the correct way when dealing with spaces in path, add quotes around path+filename...

C:\qb64>qb64 "c:\qb64\new folder\insaneclone.bas"

I didn't catch this before because I seldom ever use spaces with my folders.  Thanks to the user who reported this.

- Dav

Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: TerryRitchie on September 22, 2018, 10:51:48 pm
Have fun and time a loop doing each of the above a few thousand times, and then compare the times for them.  Unless something has seriously changed, the first should be quite a bit faster than the second.

I get 1.594 seconds for Hypot
         1.367 seconds for Math stuff
?

I'll stop discussing this here as well. This is way off topic. A new topic should be started for this.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: RNBW on September 23, 2018, 11:04:27 am
@RNBW: Thanks for the suggestions.  An earlier IDE version let users choose font & size, but I removed it when realizing using other fonts messed up High ASCII code in some code.  So I made a code page 437 font, 3 sizes of it eventually.  The word wrap I could probably add, will see if it can be done easily with just scintilla calls - but if it messes up the way I'm doing lines/linecount I'll have to reprogram some things.

@anon1:  Thanks for the link. That's sure is a good looking editor. Yes, the IDE is being made in PureBasic.

- Dav

I must say that wordwrap is very low in my requirements.  It's a nice to have, but not essential.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: bplus on September 23, 2018, 11:26:18 am
@RNBW: Thanks for the suggestions.  An earlier IDE version let users choose font & size, but I removed it when realizing using other fonts messed up High ASCII code in some code.  So I made a code page 437 font, 3 sizes of it eventually.  The word wrap I could probably add, will see if it can be done easily with just scintilla calls - but if it messes up the way I'm doing lines/linecount I'll have to reprogram some things.

@anon1:  Thanks for the link. That's sure is a good looking editor. Yes, the IDE is being made in PureBasic.

- Dav


I must say that wordwrap is very low in my requirements.  It's a nice to have, but not essential.

It was low on my list too until trying to write a program with 30 line limit with only a For Loop to do conditional branching then I found using the horizontal scroll bar sucky! Well maybe it was my memory. By the time I got to the end of the line, I forgot what was in the beginning. :D
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Kazman on September 24, 2018, 04:19:08 am
Hi Dav, I love your IDE, it is fantastic :)

The only thing I miss is the auto tabbing when writing my code.

Keep working on your IDE! ;)
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on October 03, 2018, 10:56:21 pm
Thanks, Kazman.  I got to work on it some more today.  I do have a real-time auto-indent working - very slowly - and even a VERY basic real-time syntax checking for a few commands, but those are nowhere near ready for the public so I'm holding off on those and added in a 'beautify code' call in the edit menu (ctrl+b) that will format the entire code correctly instead.  Expect that in the next update.

My beautify code routine needs some work - it's not 100% perfect but at least it doesn't break any code that I can tell, just messes up indention on a few source code I'm using for testing.  Had to deal with a crashing bug that showed up since re-writing some key procedures (fixed sloppy coding). 

Anyway, just wanted to keep you all updated.

- Dav
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Kazman on October 04, 2018, 06:05:32 am
Thank you very much Dav ;)
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on October 04, 2018, 09:46:35 pm
Beautify code now indents everything properly.  Just trying to speed it all up.   I may leave in the current real-time auto-formatting system for testing purposes only, for those who want to see where it's at in development.  It could be turned ON/OFF by entering a special command in the help box.  It's not a regular IDE feature for people to use yet, but maybe some here would like test it (it doesn't work well yet).

 I like the way QB64 lets you open an '$INCLUDE file from its IDE for editing.  Thinking of adding that too.  Would that be something users would want in this IDE?  Also thinking of adding menu choices for quick calls to external tools, like open a command prompt, windows calculator, notepad, a user define tool, etc.

Added new keywords tonight to the IDE, help system and syntax status bar.

I'm going to TRY to have an update ready by next month.  Don't expect anything major, this will be more a maintenance update than anything else.

- Dav
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: FellippeHeitor on October 04, 2018, 10:41:31 pm
Great news, Dav!
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: RNBW on October 05, 2018, 07:16:10 am
Open an '$INCLUDE file from its IDE for editing.

Could be a handy function.

Menu options for handy tools like calc, notepad - not so useful. I have those at my finger tips always. Not needed in the editor. I'd like the IDE to be a clean QB IDE not a muddled QB/os tool interface.

Dav

As a long time user of your IDE, I'm looking forward to your update.

At the moment only one code page can be open at a time, so it would be useful to be able to open Notepad from the menu to do some 'dirty' programming, copying and pasting sections of code, etc.  I have these programs on my computer (obviously, otherwise you couldn't link to them) but it would be much quicker to access them from the IDE menu. I must say I don't have much use for the calculator.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: SMcNeill on October 05, 2018, 08:17:12 am
My request:  Seperation of code into tabbed modules.  A tab for DECLARATION, one for MAIN, and one for SUB/FUNCTION. 

In Declarations would go TYPEs, DIM SHARED, CONST and other such global variables as we'd normally place in a *.BI file.  Main would, of course, be the main program, with Subs and Functions being off in the third tab.   This would keep code much cleaner and easier to reference, without one losing their spot in a program where they're working, and would help with ease of library creation -- especially if you add a simple "Save as Library" option in the file menu that saves each tab with the same name but different extensions.  ;)
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on October 05, 2018, 10:51:16 am
Thanks for the feedback/requests everyone.  I also don't like a cluttered interface so will try to keep things tidy when adding things.   Steve, that's a neat suggestion.  I will see what I can do there.  BTW, hope you're feeling better....

I went ahead and added opening included files, opened in QB64 for now, but will switch over to opening a 2nd instance of my IDE for them when I make sure there's no cross-data problems.  Instead of clicking on the names to open them, like in QB64, I put them in the "Goto..." menu along with SUB/FUNCTION names.  Select file from list to open them.

I appreciate your replies/suggestions.  It's interesting hearing the things others like in an IDE.  At first I made this IDE for myself, because at the time QB64's IDE was very buggy and slow.  Now QB64's IDE is so good, and I'm very content using it, but will continue working on my IDE for you who want it. 

- Dav
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: codeguy on October 05, 2018, 05:43:19 pm
Double-click word select, triple-click line select. Just saying. Yes, you too can "steal" OpenInclude() my recursive source loader. Edit: yeah, it can be converted to your favorite language with a * and some other minor syntactic changes. STILL would like double and triple click selection features. Or single and double and make triple click like a select all.
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: SMcNeill on October 05, 2018, 05:52:48 pm
Double-click word select, triple-click line select. Just saying. Yes, you too can "steal" OpenInclude() my recursive source loader.

Except for one problem:  Dav's IDE isn't in QB64.  ;)
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: davidshq on October 17, 2018, 10:15:43 pm
Am I missing the link to where I can download the greatest and latest edition of your IDE Dave?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on October 18, 2018, 09:08:19 am
The latest one for download is DavsIDE v1.29 (http://www.qbasicnews.com/dav/files/davside-v129.zip) (442k), but you probably have tried this version already since it hasn't been updated in 5 years.  I'm getting v1.30 ready, it's going a bit going slower than I thought due to heavier work load this month than usual.

- Dav
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: Dav on October 18, 2018, 09:49:53 pm
Just to keep you all updated with how the IDE update is coming, here are some of the changes already implemented.  Like I mentioned before, this is more a maintenance & getting my feet wet again update instead of adding new features.

* added: New QB64 Keywords to IDE
* added: Goto '$INCLUDE file... to open include files in QB64
* added: Beautify Code in edit menu (Ctrl+B) shortcut (autoformat entire code)
* added: External tools menu:  calls windows notepad, calculator, command prompt
* added: Experimental auto-formatting editing mode, for testing purposes only.
* fixed: Space in path bug when compiling or opening file in QB64.
* fixed: Several long-time bugs due to sloppy coding practice.
* fixed: Changed all references to [abandoned, outdated and now likely malicious qb64 dot net website - don’t go there] to qb64.org.

There are internal changes done which are not worth mentioning.  Had to restructure parts of the code.
Now doing some time consuming jobs like adding new help info, updating old stuff, readme, etc.

- Dav
Title: Re: Started working on my IDE again, more info...
Post by: davidshq on October 18, 2018, 10:46:36 pm
Sounds great! Going to grab the current version now! Not sure if you saw the graphical IDE thread (https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=307.msg5887#msg5887), particularly my and anon1's posts.

We are of the (minority?) opinion that a more contemporary GUI would be a huge boost to QB64's popularity. Wondering if you'd ever consider open sourcing the IDE code? Maybe we could help rewrite in QB64? Or perhaps work with PureBasic as it is now and then QB64 down the road?

Just a thought, totally understand if you want to keep it closed up. :)

Dave