QB64.org Forum

Active Forums => QB64 Discussion => Topic started by: hanness on February 13, 2022, 05:02:50 pm

Title: Please remind what the command to limit loop frequency is
Post by: hanness on February 13, 2022, 05:02:50 pm
For the life of me I simply cannot recall or find what this command is.

There is a command that limits how many iterations of a loop are run every second. For example, if you have a Do ... Loop, you could set it to run this loop no more than 10 times per second to avoid using unnecessary resources.

Title: Re: Please remind what the command to limit loop frequency is
Post by: bplus on February 13, 2022, 05:06:00 pm
_LIMIT
Title: Re: Please remind what the command to limit loop frequency is
Post by: hanness on February 13, 2022, 05:55:38 pm
LOL. I actually used the word LIMIT in the title of my question.

I amuse myself sometimes :-)

Thanks!
Title: Re: Please remind what the command to limit loop frequency is
Post by: SMcNeill on February 13, 2022, 06:09:26 pm
_LIMIT or DELAY will both work.

The difference is Limit has a maximum, self-adjustable delay, while Delay is a hard-set pause.

Example:

DO
    'Draw graphics that take 1/20th of a second to render
    LIMIT 10
LOOP

Now, with the above, drawing the graphics take 1/20th of a second.  For your Limit to reduce your speed to 10 loops per second, it'd have to calculate and introduce a 1/20th of a second pause.

DO
  'Draw the same graphics
   DELAY 0.1
LOOP

Most folks think the above are interchangeable snippets.  They aren't.  Here, we have a hard-set pause of 1/10th a second in that loop.  With the graphic draw time, it takes.15 seconds for each loop.  We're only running at 6.66 floops per second -- not 10!



Of course, sometimes the Delay is more suitable for your needs than a LIMIT.

For example, say it takes 2/10 of a second to draw the graphics.  A Limit of 10 is going to be completely ignored as the most you can process is 5 loops per second.  If you need the screen to pause no matter what, such as to give time to flash a readable message or press a button, you might want that hard-coded DELAY instead. 

Very similar commands, but slightly different.
Title: Re: Please remind what the command to limit loop frequency is
Post by: _vince on February 13, 2022, 06:29:24 pm
damn, Steve, it took you a whole page to explain what bplus said in six characters
Title: Re: Please remind what the command to limit loop frequency is
Post by: SMcNeill on February 13, 2022, 06:34:13 pm
damn, Steve, it took you a whole page to explain what bplus said in six characters

And it took you 16 words to show you never read that page, or else you'd know it was explaining 2 similar commands that could pause a loop.  👍
Title: Re: Please remind what the command to limit loop frequency is
Post by: Richard Frost on February 14, 2022, 12:28:21 am
Don't use _LIMIT or _DELAY for loops.  Use milk.
Title: Re: Please remind what the command to limit loop frequency is
Post by: CharlieJV on February 14, 2022, 08:14:30 am
Don't use _LIMIT or _DELAY for loops.  Use milk.

+ 1