QB64.org Forum

Active Forums => QB64 Discussion => Topic started by: FellippeHeitor on August 15, 2018, 07:48:33 pm

Title: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: FellippeHeitor on August 15, 2018, 07:48:33 pm
Oh hey! there is a _Trim$ keyword! I never thought to check a _version.

It's only in development builds so far; it'll become official in the next release of QB64 as outlined here: https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=304.msg2554#msg2554
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: bplus on August 15, 2018, 07:59:20 pm
Oh hey! there is a _Trim$ keyword! I never thought to check a _version.

It's only in development builds so far; it'll become official in the next release of QB64 as outlined here: https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=304.msg2554#msg2554

I don't think it likes to play with +
Code: QB64: [Select]
  1. PRINT _TRIM$("                   hello world      ")
  2. PRINT "*" + _TRIM$("                   hello world      ") + "*"
  3. PRINT "*"; _TRIM$("                   hello world      "); "*"
  4.  
For my system the middle line is blank.
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: FellippeHeitor on August 15, 2018, 09:18:27 pm
That's the type of pushing the limits we need when we announce we're beta testing a new version. Thanks. I'll look into the issue.

PS: Although it does work for me as expected, both on Windows (32bit) and macOS (64bit):

  [ This attachment cannot be displayed inline in 'Print Page' view ]  

  [ This attachment cannot be displayed inline in 'Print Page' view ]  

Anything we should know about your setup?
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: SMcNeill on August 15, 2018, 09:58:35 pm
That's the type of pushing the limits we need when we announce we're beta testing a new version. Thanks. I'll look into the issue.

PS: Although it does work for me as expected, both on Windows (32bit) and macOS (64bit):

Anything we should know about your setup?

Windows 64bit performs as bplus indicates above, for me, along with a secondary issue:

Code: QB64: [Select]
  1. a$ = "*" + _TRIM$("                   hello world      ") + "*"
  2.  

The above compiles, runs, and instantly self-destructs and closes before GL can even render a screen for us.  A program of "SYSTEM" would have a more noticeable effect than the above does, on my machine.  NO GL window opens.  There's no error messages -- not even a "C++ failed blah blah blah" message.  No "Press Any key to continue" message...   

Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: FellippeHeitor on August 15, 2018, 10:05:47 pm
Can both of you please confirm you're running the latest development build tagged 6fde149?
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: bplus on August 15, 2018, 10:20:12 pm
Hi Fellippe,

Here is what I am running:
'QB64 X 64 version 1.2 20180228/86  from git b301f92

maybe fixed now?

 
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: FellippeHeitor on August 15, 2018, 10:26:22 pm
That's at least 11 builds behind. Please try the latest.

For reference: https://github.com/flukiluke/qb64/commits/development (where build numbers come from).
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: bplus on August 15, 2018, 10:41:28 pm
OK extracting now, is this 64 x 64?

append:
  [ This attachment cannot be displayed inline in 'Print Page' view ]  

No not 64 x 64.  ;(
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: SMcNeill on August 15, 2018, 10:45:17 pm
OK extracting now, is this 64 x 64?

Only 32-bit.  You have to build the x64 version yourself.
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: bplus on August 15, 2018, 10:49:09 pm
OK extracting now, is this 64 x 64?

Only 32-bit.  You have to build the x64 version yourself.

Oh boy! I think I got the 64 x64 version from you Steve. ;)
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: FellippeHeitor on August 15, 2018, 10:59:44 pm
It'll make sense for you 64bitcrazy guys to convert the last stable version to 64bit and wait for the current dev build to become stable before you convert it again, especially considering it can be buggy and it is constantly being updated until stable is reached.
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: codeguy on August 17, 2018, 12:49:29 pm
Pretty much the simplest and fastest for extracting substrings cleared of leading and trailing spaces. I would modify this for eliminating anything below ascii 33.
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: FellippeHeitor on August 17, 2018, 01:18:14 pm
Agree to disagree, codeguy. Fastest is RTRIM$(LTRIM$(text$)), which is what _TRIM$ does internally.
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: codeguy on August 17, 2018, 04:59:54 pm
Indeed much faster. Does yours offer flexibility to do more than just eliminating padding characters <= ascii 32?
Title: Re: New _TRIM$ function
Post by: FellippeHeitor on August 17, 2018, 05:04:12 pm
Nope, it does just what it promises: work as a macro to RTRIM$(LTRIM$(text$)). It's available in the latest dev build you can get from the homepage and will come in the next version of QB64 as soon as it's made available. It'll likely be called 1.3.